Luckily due to my medication I usually sleep well.  It is one of the best benefits of Olanzapine.  However, I know it can be an issue for lots of people and so I thought I’d write up my notes from Tuesday’s ‘Managing Emotions’ course in case they were useful for anyone.

To increase the likelihood of sleep:

  • Develop and follow a consistent sleep schedule even on weekends
  • Avoid daytime naps
  • Don’t use your bed in the daytime
  • Avoid caffeine, nicotine, alcohol, heavy meals and exercise late in the day
  • Turn all lights off and keep the room quiet and cool
  • Give yourself half an hour to fall asleep
  • Do not catastrophise

If you’re calm but wide awake:

  • Get out of bed, go to another room and read a book until you’re sleepy
  • Try a light snack

If you are anxious or ruminating:

  • Focus on your breathing
  • Try a meditation practice
  • Read an emotionally engrossing novel
  • Listen to talk radio at low volume.

 

 

