I choose to feel good about myself each day.  Every morning I remind myself that I can make the choice to feel good.  This is a new habit for me to cultivate.

-Louise Hay ‘Power Thoughts’

Having thought about my morning routine some more, one thing I have decided to do is write a daily journal.  As I’m much better at typing than writing I am going to put them on here.  Warning, they may not be very exciting to read but as this blog’s primary goal is to help me, I hope you’ll forgive my waffling 😉

Another aspect I have been trying to incorporate is positive affirmations and so armed with Louise Hay’s ‘365 Daily Affirmations’ I am going to base my journal writing around a different one each day.  Some maybe more relevant than others but I think it will be interesting to try.

So, today’s affirmation I like a lot.  Life is about choices, we make hundreds of choices every day and each one we can choose to be in control of. I don’t always choose to feel good about myself, I am working through my guilt and regrets but there are times still when I beat myself up about the bad decisions I have made in the past.  This is getting much better though and I am beginning to see myself as a worthy human being again.

I am going to try to be more conscious of my thoughts and every time I catch myself thinking negatively about myself I will switch that to a positive thought.  This is within my power to do so.  I can choose to feel good!

Some areas in which I struggle:

  • My failed career – I can turn this around to feeling positive about new opportunities.
  • My daughter not being with me the whole time – I can turn this around to being in a much better relationship now, I know my marriage had to end and so custody with my daughter had to be shared, I am happy now that she can have a good relationship with both of her parents.
  • Not treating friends well in the past – this I have written about recently on here.  I did wrong but I love myself enough to move past it.  Maybe more of a struggle this one.
  • Being overweight – I am still a good person despite the weight and I have the chance to do something about it, I am making positive choices now and I will get on top of this.

Now I need to catch myself whenever I think of these things and make sure I choose to feel good about myself when I think of them.

Today should be a good day.  I have the morning to potter around and this afternoon I am going to a meetup.com lunch with a group of new people.

