I have written previously about mindfulness but just wanted to write a little more especially as I have now been incorporating it into my daily schedule.

I still use the headspace app as I prefer the guided meditations rather than going solo.  I would like to extend the time I meditate for so may in the future brave it alone for a couple of sessions a week, the headspace meditations are all 10-minutes long.  10-minutes is ideal for everyday but I would like to experiment with the benefits of sitting longer.

Alongside my medication this is the tool that brings me the most benefit.

A great quote by Lao Tzu that is in the ‘You are a Badass’ book explains it far better than I can.

If you are depressed, you are living in the past.  If you are anxious you are living in the future.  If you are at peace, you are living in the present.

Mindfulness is all about training your brain to live more in the present.  So when you find yourself getting anxious you can fallback on this training by focusing on your breath to help relieve the anxiety attack.  Similarly with depression, if you find yourself ruminating on past events, mindfulness will help bring you back to the present.

Being in the present has so many other benefits.  What is happening right here, right now is amazing.  Life is amazing and miraculous, every moment should be one to cherish.  Mindfulness can help you appreciate the little important things in life.

The badass book talks about animals and little kids as our perfect role models and it is so true.  When I watch my daughter play she is right in the moment, she enjoys her games so much without as much as a worry in the world.  At one point in life do we stop doing this, now when I try to do something I have so many other thoughts in my head, especially when I am manic.  We get so wrapped up in our thoughts that we can sometimes miss what is right in front of us.

Mindfulness is helping me to be more present with what I am doing and I hope to miss less of life!

