Everything has an awareness day and today is bipolar’s turn.

Bipolar has been part of my life for so long now that isn’t just part of my life it is part of me as a person.  Like many others with the illness I have had my ups and downs, I’ve had periods of dark dark depression and periods of mania.  I tend to have more depressive episodes than manic but the mania is more dangerous for me.

However, again like many others, I also have periods of stability.  When I say bipolar is part of me it is by no means all of me.  I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a partner, a teacher, an artist among other things.  Bipolar alone does not define me.

I have come to the conclusion it will always be in my life but I hope one day to not to have to rely on medication but for the time being I am happy with where I am.

So, happy international bipolar day 🙂

