I was kindly sent a 3-pack of these to review on my blog.  Has anyone else tried them yet?

Haps is a powder blend of Baobab, Mango, Pear, Pineapple, Guava, Banana and Griffonia Seed with added vitamins in there too.  The Griffonia is the interesting ingredient as it is a natural version of 5-HTP which is linked to serotonin in the brain.

Serotonin levels are linked with mood and so the theory is by taking a drink with the Griffonia Seed in you will naturally boost your mood as your serotonin levels will be increased.

I have tried 2 out of the 3 sachets now and they are very pleasant in taste, they aren’t too sweet but still have a slight sherberty taste.

I was a little worried as it says not to use them if you’re on antidepressants (too much serotonin can be harmful) so I checked with my doctor that my medication was okay first.  I don’t take a SSRI so my doctor said it was okay to try these drinks but be sensible and use them in moderation.  I personally wouldn’t want to take it every day.

Did I feel a boost in mood ?

Yes, it did make me feel better.  The second one especially I drank when I was feeling quite down and it helped to break that cycle.  It is impossible to say for me whether it was the drink, the act of making the drink or a placebo effect. However, it did work for me.

In summary:

Pros:

  • Taste nice
  • Full of vitamins
  • Did boost my mood
  • Easy to make
  • Handy sachets

Cons:

  • Can’t take if on regular antidepressants
  • Expensive

I’d say they are handy for having around for a quick mood boost and to add to your well-being toolkit.  As money is tight for me at the moment they are out of my current price range.

 

 

