7 cups of tea is a fabulous resource I have used in the past.  It is an online listening service with people who are trained to listen.  I am now a verified listener on there myself and I find being a listener extremely rewarding.

As you know if you’ve been reading my blog I have decided to pursue some official qualification in counselling and so I hope to build upon my 7 cups of tea training.

One important aspect to both 7 cups and counselling is the art of ‘active listening’ and not giving direct advice.  Giving direct advice can be dangerous as it doesn’t empower people and it can lead to a dependence on other people to function.  Instead, by actively listen you help guide the person to a solution that has come from them and not you.  In the long term this creates confidence and self-empowerment.

I have been a listener on there since 2015 now and have helped 181 people according to my stats.  I did take a couple of breaks when I have been ill myself but now I am getting back into it.  It is, in my opinion, a great website and really useful if you just need someone to talk to.

