Well I did it.  I have booked onto an open online Counselling Level 3 course.  I decided that it could only be a good thing as it will potentially open up more career options and even if I stay in teaching it will be a useful skill to have.

The first learning activity is to make a list of the counselling skills I think I already have and those which I hope to learn.

Skills I already have:

  • Good listening
  • Work well with other people
  • Caring attitude
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Able to form working relationships quickly
  • Good at empathising
  • Non-judgemental
  • Keep confidentiality

Skills I want to learn:

  • Theoretical knowledge of counselling methods
  • What to do in specific circumstances – like abuse etc
  • How to actually work as a counsellor
  • Different types of listening
  • How to deal with people in distress

 

