We don’t laugh because we’re happy, we are happy because we laugh

– William James, Psychologist

When was the last time you laughed?

Up until very recently if you’d have asked me that I wouldn’t have been able to give you a concrete answer as it is something that has been missing from my life.  Maybe whilst playing with my daughter?  Maybe during a conversation with my partner?

I keep mentioning that I’m reading a lot at the moment.  Well, the latest chapter I have read is all about laughter and saying goodbye to negative emotions.  Small children apparently laugh 40 times a day on average but this reduces as we get older with the average adult laughing 17 times a day.  With these statistics I am well below average!

This week I have laughed whilst playing bingo at the women’s group and that was the first time I had laughed in a while.  Once a week is no-where near 17 times a day.

So, last night I set about trying to rectify this by doing something else that I used to love: watching movies.  I went on ‘Now TV’ and selected the comedy genre and watched the first movie I hadn’t seen before ‘How to be single’.  It was actually surprisingly good and yes…..I did laugh, probably 5-6 times during the movie, which isn’t great but it’s better than nothing!  In fact I should start a new rating system for movies based on how much they make me laugh.

Therefore good people of the blogosphere, I need some recommendations.  What movies/TV shows are guaranteed laughter?  Can you be the person to suggest something that will give me my first 10/10 laughs?

